Founding Team (2009)

Prof. MP Satija


M P Satija, Currently Honorary Professor and UGC Emeritus Fellow, Department of Library and Information Science in the Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, has served the library profession for the last full five decades (2022). As an author, he has published more than twenty-five books in India, the UK, USA Canada, Mexico, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Indonesia. There are about 200 papers in research journals and many conference papers published in India and abroad. He has collaborated with international experts namely, Dr. John Comaromi, Editor DDC (1979-1991), Ms. Joan S. Mitichell, editor DDC-22, Dr. Ray Prytherch, Editor, Harrod's Glossary, and Dr. S. P. Agrawal, former Director, National Social Science Documentation Centre (NASSDOC, New Delhi). His works have been translated into Hindi, Spanish, German and French, Spanish, Sinhala, and Bhasa Indonesia. His major contribution lies in enriching library science literature. Many bibliometric studies have found him a highly prolific author. Having done his Ph.D. in Ranganathan studies, he has been instrumental in interpreting and propagating Ranganathan's works and ideas to the new generation. He has written extensively on Classification, Subject Headings, Book Numbers, Ranganathan Studies, and Indian Library Literature. Aboard is known for his expertise in Colon Classification and the Indian state of the art on classification. Accordingly, he is often invited to contribute papers in these areas for books and journals. His textbooks on Colon Classification and the Dewey Decimal Classification are being used as class texts in many library schools in India. On receiving his long article on Call Number & Book Number (Published in Encyclopedia of Library & Information science (Marcel Dekker, vol 45,1991) Prof. Allen Kent the editor described that as a "Masterpiece". His various writings on the Sears List of Subject Headings have won the commendations of its chief editor Dr. Joseph Miller (H. W. Wilson. Co.) His latest work appears in the ISKO Encyclopedia of Knowledge Organisation (IEKO). On invitation, he has delivered lectures in many universities in India and abroad and has written lessons for distance education students of IGNOU, Kurukshetra University, Kota Open University, MDU Rohtak, and Aligarh Muslim University. As an advisor to Harrod's Librarians Glossary (Gower, UK) he made considerable input to revising entries relating to classification.

He has visited Germany, Finland, England, Nepal, the Netherlands, Belgium, Sri Lanka, and South Korea on professional assignments. He is associated with many library journals such as Annals of Library and Info studies (CSIR), Library Herald (DLA), Library Progress (Int,) Knowledge Organisation (UK/Germany), Korean Journals JISTaP, and IJKCDT. He has been the Indian Coordinator of the International Society for Knowledge Organisation (ISKO) (USA). In the summer of 1988, he worked with Dr. Ingetraut Dahlberg in Frankfurt for three months to assist her on various then ongoing projects. Later, he served as a Visiting Fellow for three months at Maastricht McLuhan Institute, University of Maastricht, the Netherlands in the summer of 1999 and the visit was followed by another visit of six weeks in May 2001. The work done there fructified in the publication of A Dictionary of Knowledge Organization, (Guru Nanak Dev University, 2004). In 2005 he was invited by the University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka as a Visiting Professor. There he was instrumental in instituting a library & information science doctoral programme in the Department of Library of Information Science which is the first ever research degree programme in the country. There he also served as a bibliography consultant to the National Library Services Board of Sri Lanka. In 2016 for one month, he served as a visiting professor at Konkuk University, Chungju, South Korea. Currently, he serves as a visiting Faculty at the DRTC, Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore since 2012.

Dr. Satija has been honored with the best teacher/lifetime Achievement Awards by almost all the national library associations of India.

Prof. KP Singh

Founding President

Mr. Rajiv Sharma

General Secretary

Mr. Ashish Kumar Bhuriya


Ms. Asha Arora


Ms. Nandi Negi


Tel: +91-93122-34034; +91-98680-56230

Mr. Sunil Kumar

Public Relation Officer

Mr. Rajinder Krishan

EC Member